Posted by: Niko | December 17, 2007

How to run Exchange 2003 System Management Tools in Vista

Copy following dlls from Exchange setup media or Exchange server and place them in your \Windows\System32 directory.

address.dll
escprint.dll
exchmem.dll
glblname.dll
maildsmx.dll
pttrace.dll
netui0.dll
netui1.dll
netui2.dll

Files starting with “net” are placed in Exchange server’s \system32 directory and others in \Exchsrvr\bin directory

After you have copied the files run regsvr32 %systemroot%\system32\maildsmx.dll in the command prompt. Note that you need administrative rights so you need to start cmd.exe with “Run as administrator” selection.

Responses

  1. Thanks! This hack worked. I did have to add the Exchange ADUC msc file too.

    How did you figure this out?

  2. I can’t seem to make this work.
    1. I copied all of the files to the system32 dir.
    2. Ran the regsvr32
    3. Tried running the Exchange 2003 tools and then it error out.

    Help
    THX
    maiello@ci.palm-coast.fl.us

  3. Worked like a charm. With this work aound you don’t need to install Exchange System Management tools on the Vista machine.

    Just Admin pack for 2003 servers, enable IIS under control pannel (Turn on windows features) and this workaround and ” Active Directory manage users and computers” the exchange tabs are present.

    Thank you.

  4. For those having issues…
    Create a txt file. copy the following:

    regsvr32 /s address.dll

    regsvr32 /s escprint.dll

    regsvr32 /s exchmem.dll

    regsvr32 /s glblname.dll

    regsvr32 /s maildsmx.dll

    regsvr32 /s pttrace.dll

    regsvr32 /s netui0.dll

    regsvr32 /s netui1.dll

    regsvr32 /s netui2.dll

    Change the name of the file to Exchange4Vista.cmd

    Right-Click it and Run As Administrator.

    And it works like a charm.

    Thanks for the hack!!

  5. Thanks! Worked like a charm.

  6. Hi, Have been able to get the tabs on Active Directory Users. But I have not be able to run “Exchange System Manager.msc”. I receive a message of a snap-in not present.
    do someone knows what am I missing? (have done all the steps above)
    Thanks!
    By the way… great tip!

  7. Hi, Thanks for the tip, but it seems not to work for the same reason of Arturo Diaz’s.
    Any solution for this issue?

    Thanks

  8. This works for akingchanges to users i AD. But how I get the MC Plug in to work so I ca manage the server itself?

    Thanks

  9. Great hack! Works perfect! Thanks a million!

  10. The tabs and everything look correct after I run however, the mailbox rights that are created look to be incorrect when creating an account from scratch. Check under Exchange Advanced > Mailbox Rights.

  11. hello,
    i did everything you explained and it works but everytime i leave the mmc, it crashes.when i create a mailbox, it crashes also.
    do you have an idea where it could come from?
    regards

  12. SWEET!! Followed your steps and it seems to work so far!! Thanks for the great tip!

  13. I need the same but for Vista 64 bits.

    Can you help me?

  14. I got the MMC snap-in to work by copying exadmin.dll and “Exchange System Manager.msc” to the system32 directory and registering exadmin.dll as above.

  15. all of the above works a treat except the registring of the exadmin.dll it cannot load this dll?

    any more idea’s to get the MMC working also?

    other then that great tip – thanks

  16. Yes, I couldn’t get the MMC to work as well.. Just like Maarten said…. can anyone help?
    Mike

  17. Great hack…thanks for figuring the ADC&U process out!!!

  18. Great hack – one problem though. Now when I create a new account, or COPY an existing account, none of the permissions from higher level objects are propagating down to the new user. The only security entry being placed on the mailbox is “self”, which is a not inherited anyway. If this were only happening on the vista box, that wouldnt be such a concern. However, its happening now when I create a user on the exchange server directly as well.

    Any thoughts?

  19. Nevermind. I found that this was just me overreacting that I had seriously damaged something. Turns out that the propagation doesn’t take place until the first time the user logs in. Its normal behavior for the account to only have the SELF permission set in the mailbox rights screen.

    Again, thanks for the info, the ability to administer exchange from my vista machine is very helpful!

  20. well I had the solution but this stupid blog discarded it without any chance for getting my post back. screw this.

  21. YOU ARE REALLY GREAT MAN….

  22. Thanks for the hack.

  23. works like a champ.

  24. Why hasn’t Microsoft posted a solution for Vista users to administrate Exchagne 2003?

  25. Works great, but it’s extremely slow when changing email settings. On XP we fixed this by assigning a “Preferred SA Server”, but the same registry entry doesn’t exist on Vista, presumably because I didn’t actually install the Exchange tools.

    I tried creating the registry entry by hand, but that didn’t help. Anybody got a clue how to fix that?

  26. Awesome, works like a charm! I zipped this bad boy up with a batch script to copy all files and register them.

  27. Looks like there is a Vista ESM:
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=3403d74e-8942-421b-8738-b3664559e46f&DisplayLang=en

    downloading now…

  28. This worked. I was really getting mad at Microsoft for this. I just placed the first Vista Machine on my job network just for me and I was face with this stupid Microsoft problem. What is your background for figuring this out? I never would have figured this out on my own.

  29. […] box. Just run up a virtual PC instance of XP and do that. It’s way simpler. Of course, there is: https://nikste.wordpress.com/2007/12/…ools-in-vista/ but I don’t know if that will interfere with your running of EMC/EMS and ESM all […]

  30. Worked great first time, but after reboot its all gone again and no amount of re-copying files or re-registering dlls will put it back.

    Any ideas?

  31. Wow, awesome!

    I only ran into an issue where the netuiX.dll files weren’t on the media or in the EXCHSVR directory… I simply did a search on the Exchange server and found them in the SYSTEM32 directory.

    Opened ADUC and viola! Tabs are present, everything works like a charm.

    Thanks for this!

  32. thanks a mil, should have read this 3 years ago !

  33. Found this to get the Exchange System Manager GUI to work from

    http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/exchangesvradmin/thread/2c05f5bf-eb7c-4595-b865-841e084efcf9/#page:4

    to run ESM from your Windows Vista:

    1. Install Adminpak.msi from Win2k3, then register those DLL´s (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx/kb/930056)
    2. Copy all DLL´s file from \exchsrvr\bin to your \windows\syswow64 (\windows\system32 for 32 bits OS)
    3. Copy “Exchange System Manager.msc” from your \exchsrvr\bin to your machine.
    4. Copy  the \windows\system32\ntlsapi.dll from your Exchange Server to your \windows\syswow64 (\windows\system32 for 32 bits OS).
    Then execute as administrator:
    5. regsvr32 cdoexm.dll
    6. regsvr32 exadmin.dll
    7. run “Exchange System Manager.msc”

  34. Works like a charm…thanks for sharing.

  35. Fantastic, cheers Niko! You have relieved my Sein of much wasted Zeit. now I can get back to my German Phenomenology 😉

  36. I am running vista 64bit and have the RSAT installed.

    Will this fix work With RSAT?

  37. Thank you very much !!! Works great !!!

  38. Use this hotfix to manage your servers from Vista
    (sorry for my bad english)

    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?displaylang=en&FamilyID=9ff6e897-23ce-4a36-b7fc-d52065de9960

  39. This post is great. thank you for sharing these helpful infos. I appreciate your work man

  40. I can’t loacte those all of those dll files. i have a few but not all.

  41. Sorry for the bad english. I was trying to say that i can’t locate all of those files on the Exchange ISO.

  42. I really like what you guys are up too. This sort of
    clever work and reporting! Keep up the great works guys I’ve added you guys to my personal blogroll.

  43. My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was totally right.

    This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  44. Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures
    on this blog loading? I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

  45. Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you been running a blog for?
    you made blogging glance easy. The full glance
    of your site is great, as smartly as the content material!


Leave a Reply

Categories

